Afcon 2021: Egypt beat Ivory Coast on penalties

Mohamed Salah reacts against Ivory Coast
Egypt captain Mohamed Salah went close twice in the first half and netted the decisive penalty

Egypt beat Ivory Coast 5-4 on penalties to reach the quarter-finals at the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon following a 0-0 draw.

The North Africans got the upper hand in the shoot-out when substitute keeper Gabaski saved Eric Bailly’s effort in the third round of spot-kicks.

And Pharaohs captain Mohamed Salah netted the decisive penalty to send the record seven-time champions through.

Egypt will face Morocco in the last eight in Yaounde on Sunday (16:00 GMT).

The finale was somewhat harsh on Manchester United defender Bailly, who had performed superbly at the back while sporting a rugby scrum cap on his return from a head injury.

Yet he took a short run-up for his penalty and placed his effort too close to Gabaski, who dived to his right and stuck out his left hand to push the ball onto the bar.

The Zamalek keeper had come on right at the end of the second half after Mohamed El Shenawy picked up a leg injury, and may well start against Morocco depending on the extend of the injury suffered by Egypt’s number one.

More to follow.


Ivory Coast

Formation 4-3-3

  • 23Sangaré
  • 17Aurier
  • 21BaillyBooked at 9mins
  • 14DeliBooked at 112mins
  • 3Konan
  • 18Sangaré
  • 4SeriSubstituted forBogaat 72′minutes
  • 8KessiéSubstituted forDiéat 30′minutes
  • 15GradelSubstituted forZahaat 71′minutesBooked at 118mins
  • 22HallerSubstituted forCornetat 105′minutes
  • 19Pépé


  • 1Tapé
  • 5Kanon
  • 7Kossounou
  • 9Zaha
  • 10Kouassi
  • 11Cornet
  • 12Maïga
  • 13Boga
  • 20Dié
  • 24Kouamé
  • 26Cissé
  • 28Boli


Formation 4-3-3

  • 1GomaaSubstituted forAbou Gabal Aliat 88′minutes
  • 3Abdel Wahed
  • 6Hegazy
  • 2Abdelmonem Elsayed Mohamed Ahmed
  • 13Mohamed
  • 17Elneny
  • 4El Soleya
  • 5Abdul FattahSubstituted forSayedat 84′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 10Salah
  • 14Ahmed AbdallahSubstituted forMohamed Ragaei Bakrat 90′minutes
  • 22MarmoushSubstituted forTrézéguetat 71′minutes


  • 7Trézéguet
  • 8Abdelghany
  • 9Mohamed Ragaei Bakr
  • 11Sobhi
  • 12Ashraf
  • 16Abou Gabal Ali
  • 18Ahmed Abdelmonem
  • 19Bekhit
  • 20Eldin Mahmoud Ibrahim
  • 21Sayed
  • 23Daader
  • 28Mehany

Jean Jacques Ndala Ngambo

Live Text

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *